The Sunday Omelet

Posted on Updated on

IMG_7108

I love the weekend. Who doesn’t? It gives me a chance to slow down, enjoy the morning and make a delicious breakfast for the hubby and myself.

Normally, (and anyone who REALLY knows me will attest to this) nothing makes me happier than Chocolate Chip Pancakes. Weekends used to be synonymous with Pancakes for me. But the whole point of this page is to try new things, eat better for your health and discover how delicious other foods REALLY CAN BE!

WARNING: I eat meat. I’m sorry if you do not but I totally respect your attitude and beliefs to not. But this meal includes meat. THE most important and awesome meat of all time, BACON.

This past weekend I decided I was hungry for some bacon and eggs. Naturally, I like to pack the eggs with as many delicious and nutritious ingredients as possible, so we chopped up some mushrooms, onions, fresh jalapenos and tomatoes.

IMG_7093

I had some AMAZING organic bacon in the freezer from Applegate Farms, which is a GREAT brand. I found this brand at BJs Warehouse which is a HUGE bonus. They are a family farm, their animals are humanely raised, they do not use antibiotics, there are no added hormones or nitrates. I urge you to check them out. http://www.applegate.com/?gclid=CPfZgIXR3boCFY0-MgodtH0A7A

So, for flavor purposes, I cooked the bacon first in my cast iron pan.

(Side note: If you are still using ANY “non-stick” Teflon pans what-so-ever, please for the love of your family or whatever/whoever else you love, THROW THEM OUT. Don’t even donate them, just THROW THEM OUT. I will expand on an article I’ve written myself at a later date, but for now, here’s a link to why “non-stick-coated pots and pans” are THE WORSE POSSIBLE things you currently have in your home. So much so that the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has called for a BAN toxic coating by 2015.The EPA has also revealed that PFOA poses developmental and reproductive risks to humans while animal studies have linked the chemical to:Risks of liver, pancreatic, testicular and mammary gland tumors, Altered thyroid hormone regulation, Damage to your immune system, Reproductive problems, infertility and birth defects)
Learn more: http://www.naturalnews.com/031946_nonstick_cookware_health_danger.html#ixzz2kNHA5Wd8

Still hungry? Let’s move on… 🙂

There’s my delicious, organic bacon. MMMmmm mmmm!!!!

IMG_7097

I ended up cooking an entire package of bacon. Once done, remove the bacon to drain. Leave only about 3 tablespoons of the bacon grease in the pan to cook your veggies in.

(Now, I know you’re probably thinking, “WHAT!? Cook IN the bacon fat!?!??” Isn’t that SO BAD for your health?!” Well, that is also another article for another day… so to save the length of this post, just trust me on this one. I’m not telling you to pour yourself a cup of it and drink it with your meal… But just know that cooking with bacon fat is FAAAR less offensive than using corn, canola, etc.)  I digress… back to the FOOD!

Toss in veggies to stir-fry.

IMG_7098

Once they are to your desired tenderness, add another tablespoon or two of bacon grease to the pan.

IMG_7101

My secret to “fluffy eggs” use to be adding about 1/3 cup of milk and whisking it in… Now that I don’t touch regular milk anymore, Almond Milk is a perfect alternative.

IMG_7094

Now pour those suckers right into the pan on top of your veggies.

IMG_7103

Now, with this many eggs and ingredients, you’re sure to not get the perfect “flip” as an omelet should be, so just turn the eggs gently until they are cooked to your liking. Note: I personally do not “scramble” eggs when I cook them because I like big folds of eggs rather than little choppy bites, but they’re your eggs, so by all means, play by your rules.

I garnished the tops of the eggs with the tomatoes and had some fresh organic parsley in the fridge, so I added that on top as well. I used to think Parsley was the wasted green stuff on your plate at restaurants for decoration but Parsley actually has a SLU of health benefits. (More info below) We also had some fresh guacamole we made from the night before. We LOVE Guac. We would eat it every-single-day if it weren’t so time consuming to make. Normally a batch with 9 or 10 avocados lasts a day before it’s all gone. I’m telling you, we are ANIMALS for the stuff.

IMG_7112

Parsley:
Parsley has been around for more than 2000 years and boasts some SERIOUS time-tested benefits.

  • Parsley is rich in many vital vitamins, including Vitamin C,  B 12, K and A. This means parsley keeps your immune system strong, tones your bones and heals the nervous system, too.
  • It helps flush out excess fluid from the body, thus supporting kidney function. However, the herb contains oxalates, which can cause problems for those with existing kidney and gall bladder problems.
  • Regular use of parsley can help control your blood pressure. The folic acid in this herb is like a tonic for your heart.
  • Parsley essential oil, when massaged into the scalp, may reduce hair loss.
  • Use parsley daily, and you’ll feel relief from joint pain. That’s because the herb has anti-inflammatory properties.
  • Parsley tea relaxes stiff muscles and encourages digestion.
  • Studies indicate that parsley—especially its essential oil—may have a role in inhibiting cancerous tumors. In fact, scientists have billed it a ‘chemoprotective’ food.
  • Parsley essential oil, when massaged into the scalp, may reduce hair loss.

Try some Parsley in a dish this week and let me know what you think! It’s not just for Italian Red Sauces. Let me know how you use it!

2 thoughts on “The Sunday Omelet

    LFFL said:
    November 23, 2013 at 1:00 am

    I love a colorful plate. Looks good.

      abcurls responded:
      November 23, 2013 at 4:56 pm

      Thanks, me too! I love eating the colors of the rainbow! 🙂

Leave a comment